SAC 2023 - Software Verification and Testing Track (SVT)


The ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC) 2023 has gathered scientists from different areas of computing over the last more than thirty years. The forum represents an opportunity to interact with different communities sharing an interest in applied computing.

The 38th ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC 2023) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing (SIGAPP), and will take place on March 27-31, 2023 in Tallin, Estonia.

Software Verification and Testing Track (SVT)

The Software Verification and Testing track aims at contributing to the challenge of improving the usability of formal methods in software engineering. The track covers areas such as formal methods for verification and testing, based on theorem proving, model checking, static analysis, and run-time verification. We invite authors to submit new results in formal verification and testing, as well as development of technologies to improve the usability of formal methods in software engineering. Also are welcome detailed descriptions of applications of mechanical verification to large scale software.


Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

  • model checking
  • theorem proving
  • correct by construction development
  • verification-based testing
  • software testing
  • symbolic execution
  • static and dynamic analysis
  • abstract interpretation
  • analysis methods for dependable systems
  • software certification and proof carrying code
  • fault diagnosis and debugging
  • verification and validation of large scale software systems
  • real world applications and case studies applying software testing and verification
  • benchmarks and data sets for software testing and verification

Submission Guidelines

Paper submissions must report on original, unpublished work. Submitted papers will undergo a double-blind review process. Author(s) name(s) and address(es) must not appear in the body of the paper, and self-reference should be avoided and made in the third person. We welcome research papers and posters. Research papers should have at most 8 two-column pages in ACM format (further two pages, to a total of 10 pages, may be available at a charge). The length of a poster is limited to three pages (one extra page may be available at a charge). Please comply to this page limitation already at submission time.

Furthermore, in the context of the Student Research Competition (SRC) Program to provide graduate students the opportunity to meet and exchange ideas with researchers and practitioners in their areas of interest, graduate students are invited to submit research abstracts (maximum of 4 pages in ACM camera-ready format) following the instructions published at the SAC 2023 website. Submission of the same abstract to multiple tracks is not allowed.

Accepted papers will be published in the ACM SAC 2023 proceedings in the ACM digital library. Paper registration is required, allowing the inclusion of the paper/poster in the conference proceedings. An author or a proxy attending SAC MUST present the paper. This is a requirement for the paper/poster to be included in the ACM digital library. No-show of registered papers and posters will result in excluding them from the ACM digital library.

The author kit:

The submission system for regular papers:

The submission system for SRC (Student Research Competition) abstracts:

Important Dates

Paper and SRC abstract submission: October 1, 2022  October 24, 2022 (new deadline)

  • Notification: November 19, 2022  December 12, 2022 
  • Camera-ready version of accepted papers: December 6, 2022 December 30, 2022
  • SAC 2023  March 27-31, 2023

Accepted Papers

  • Formalizing an Efficient Runtime Assertion Checker for an Arithmetic Language with Functions and Predicates. Thibaut Benjamin and Julien Signole
  • Ownership-Based Owicki-Gries Reasoning. Mikhail Semenyuk and Brijesh Dongol
  • Multi-thread Combinatorial Test Generation with SMT solvers. Andrea Bombarda, Angelo Gargantini and Andrea Calvagna
  • An Efficient Black-Box Support of Advanced Coverage Criteria for Klee. Nicolas Berthier, Steven De Oliveira, Nikolai Kosmatov, Delphine Longuet and Romain Soulat
  • Exhaustive Branch Coverage with TreeFrog. Nicky Williams

Accepted poster

  • A formal analysis of Dutch Generic Integral Tunnel Design models. Kevin H.J. Jilissen, Peter Dieleman and Jan Friso Groote
  • BlueCov: Integrating Test Coverage and Model Checking with JBMC. Matthias Güdemann and Peter Schrammel

Track Chairs

Program Committee

Erika Abraham, RWTH Aachen University, Denmark

Bernhard Aichernig, TU Graz, Austria  

Christian Colombo, University of Malta, Malta

Cristina David, University of Cambridge, UK

Crystal Chang Din, University of Bergen, Norway

Michele Chiari, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Cathérine Dubois, ENSIIE, France

Maria del Mar Gallardo, University of Malaga, Spain 

Angelo Gargantini, University of Bergamo, Italy

Matthias Güdemann, UAS Münich, Germany

Ernst Moritz Hahn, University of Twente, the Netherlands

Sylvain Hallé, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Canada 

Klaus Havelund, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, USA

Ralf Huuck, The University of New South Wales, Australia

Thierry Jéron, Inria, France

Eduard Kamburjan University of Oslo, Norway

Ferhat Khendek, Concordia, Canada

Nikolai Kosmatov, Thales, France

Peter Lammich, University of Twente, the Netherlands

Martin Leucker, University of Lübeck, Germany

Mercedes Merayo, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

Wojciech Mostowski, Halmstad University, Sweden

Mike Papadakis, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg 

João Pascoal Faria, INESC TEC and University of Porto, Portugal

Violet Ka I Pun, Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway

Antoine Rollet, Bordeaux INP, LaBRI, France

Julien Signoles, CEA List, France

Marjan Sirjani, Malardalen University, Sweden

Armando Tacchella, University of Genoa, Italy

Tom van Dijk, University of Twente, the Netherlands

Mahsa Varshosaz, Copenhagen, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Anton Wijs, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, the Netherlands

Franz Wotawa, TU Graz, Austria

Husni Yenigun, Sabanci University, Turkey

Fatiha Zaidi, University of Paris-Saclay, France